About the National Commission for UNESCO:

The National Commission is chaired, ex-officio, by the Honourable Minister of Education (Ministry of Basic and Secondary Education).


Committees or Sub-Committees:

There are 5 technical committees, for education, science, culture, communication and the ‘Man and the Biosphere’ programme.

Chairperson | Year

Mr. George W.L. Thomas 1993–1998

Mrs. Ralphina D. Almeida 1998–2001

Mrs. Ann Therese Ndong Jatta 2001–2004

Ms. Fatou L. Faye 2004–present

Secretary General | Year

Mr. George W.L. Thomas 1983-1993

Dr. Alieu B.S Taal 1993-1995

Mrs. Mam Sallah Cham 1995-2001

Mrs. Sukai Bojang 2001-2011

Mr. Yahya Al-Matarr Jobe (Acting SG) 2011-present

The official link between UNESCO and The Gambia