The Gambia became a member of UNESCO in 1973. The Gambia National Commission for UNESCO (NATCOM) was later established in 1983 to function as a liaison between the government and UNESCO as well as ensure full and effective participation in multisectoral activities. The Gambia National Commission for UNESCO (NATCOM) is a quasi-government Institution receiving its subvention from the Ministry of Basic and Secondary Education. The Honourable Minister of Basic and Secondary Education is the chairperson of the commission.

Members of the commission are appointed from various ministries, institutions, civil society and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) working in UNESCO’s fields of competence.

The Secretary General is head of the secretariat and secretary to the commission. The Commission is supported financially by the Government of The Gambia to cover salaries and operating costs. Projects coordinated and implemented by Gambia National Commission for UNESCO are financed from the Regular Budget of UNESCO as well as the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (ICESCO)..


Ousman Senghor 2017 - To Date

Mr Momodou Sanneh 2015 - 2017

Mr. Yahya Al-Matarr Jobe 2012 - 2015

Mrs. Sukai Bojang 2001 - 2012

Mrs. Mam Sillah Cham 1995 - 2001

Dr. Alieu B.S Taal 1993 - 1995

Mr. George W.L. Thomas 1983 - 1993